Come Alive (Experiment in Terror #7) – Karina Halle

 

Does love conquer all? It’s the central theme in Come Alive Karina Halle‘s ninth entry in the Experiment in Terror franchise. Well, all I can say is this ostrich pulled her head out of the sand and it was well worth it.

CA

I know the above statement may not make sense but once you read the rest of the post it should. It was ridiculous to think I could wait until winter for more EiT but unfortunately now I have no choice.

ORIGINAL POST (August 25, 2013) Consider this an interim review because I have not in fact finished Come Alive, the seventh installment of the Experiment in Terror series. I adore this franchise and I am beginning to wonder if Karina Halle is some sort of god, at least of the demi variety. I have raced through each of the eight previous books and loved every minute of it and actually expected to be caught up more than a week ago but I am procrastinating.

The reason, I think, is two fold, one I quite simply am not ready to leave Dex and Perry… okay I will be honest, Dex, I am not ready to leave Dex. I have nothing against Perry and other than her fragile self-esteem, which makes me want to sit down and have a long talk with her about getting a grip and in the event that that fails then I would have no choice but to slap her but I digress. Second, I have a bad feeling, I never watch Gone With the Wind after Rhett and Scarlett marry, well other than the first time of course and I am still scarred from how spectacularly that went wrong and all for ASHLEY for goodness sake! Thus in light of my bad feeling, could be just GWTW flashbacks I am not sure but I have no other choice than to opt for the effective although somewhat cowardly approach of my best ostrich, find sand and insert head firmly at least until Ashes to Ashes comes out this winter or possibly until next May when the ninth and final installment Dust to Dust is released.

It’s one thing to bring the woman you love back into your life. It’s another to try and keep her there. For Dex Foray, convincing Perry Palomino to open herself to their burgeoning relationship has been more challenging than hunting ghosts, battling demons and stalking Sasquatch combined. Add in the fact that the only way they can keep their Exper­i­ment in Terror show running is to take on a third partner in the form of the mys­te­ri­ous Max­imus Jacobs — all while investigating a sinister voodoo sect in New Orleans — and you’ve got the perfect Southern storm and a recipe for dis­as­ter. Luckily, Dex has never been one to back down, even when his life –and heart — are on the line.

New Orleans VooDoo
New Orleans VooDoo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Following the disastrous loss of the Sasquatch footage the only way Jimmy will allow Dex and Perry to continue shooting Experiment in Terror is with Maximus at the helm. This is not entirely unexpected as his appearance in Portland a few months prior was to convince Perry to come back to Shownet sans Dex. Neither is happy about this situation but to appease Perry Dex agrees to try. Their destination is New Orleans aka Ghost Capital USA, and it is not long before it becomes apparent that ghosts are not the only supernatural thing afoot as there are rumors of the dead walking and connections to a powerful voodoo priestess. When a bar patron dies suddenly in front of Perry then reappears later not quite so dead but not alive either that there may be a link to one of the three of them.

Come Alive is told from Dex’s POV, which may not appeal to some but considering my affection for his character I enjoy it immensely. It is illuminating to understand Dex’s struggle to be the man that he believes Perry needs and you can’t help but hope that he succeeds even when it is apparent that forces greater than themselves may be trying to keep them apart.

Rosalie Alley, Bywater section of New Orleans....

AUTHOR: Karina Halle

RATING: 5  Stars

GENRE: Fiction

Leave a comment